Club Leadership

Club Leadership

Snake River's leadership is composed of elected officers who are dues-paying members of the club. Officers serve a year-long term and all dues-paying members are eligible to be elected.

Club President: JD Sutphin
Vice President: Josh Uriarte
Treasurer: Michael Lose
Secretary: Grant Miller

Mike Saunders — Head Coach

As a player:

  • 1978 - Started playing rugby at the U.S. Naval academy
  • 1982 - Joined OMBAC rugby in San Diego
  • 1983-1993 - Became captain of OMBAC. Won 1 Sevens National Title, 4 15s National Title
  • 1986 - Started playing for U.S. National Team
  • 1988-1991 - 12 Caps. Captain of the U.S. National Team, including 1988 Soviet Tour

As a coach:

  • 1993-Present - Head Coach for Snake River Rugby
  • 2007-2008 - Head Coach of the Pacific Coast Grizzlies
  • 2008 - Backs Coach for the USA Falcons

Favorite thing about coaching: I really love coaching Snake River, the guys are committed and great to be around. Most importantly the key to our success has been how we play for each other. I really want us to play an expansive game, where each player understands his role and what to expect of his teammates.